Your Energy System

Chakra System Image.jpg

Chakras General Information:


Chakra (Sanskrit: चक्र, IAST: cakra, Pali: cakka, lit. wheel, circle; English: /ˈtʃʌk-, ˈtʃækrə/ CHUK-, CHAK-rə[2]) are various focal points used in a variety of ancient meditation practices, collectively denominated as Tantra, or the esoteric or inner traditions of Hinduism.

The concept is found in the early traditions of Hinduism. Beliefs differ between the Indian religions, with many Buddhist texts consistently mentioning five chakras, while Hindu sources offer six or even seven. Early Sanskrit texts speak of them both as meditative visualizations combining flowers and mantras and as physical entities in the body. Some modern interpreters speak of them as complexes of electromagnetic fields, the precise degree and variety of which directly arise from a synthetic average of all positive and negative "energy fields," and eventuating the complex Nadi. Within kundalini yoga, the techniques of breath, exercises, visualizationsmudrasbandhaskriyas, and mantras are focused on manipulating the flow of subtle energy through the energy hubs (chakras).

Chakra or Energy Systems Definitions

1. MULADHARA (the ROOT Chakra (Clear Red)) : 

Muladhara (literally, root support) is located at the base of the spine. It is graphically, and in symbol, illustrated as a red four-petaled lotus, and it’s connected to the earth element. Muladhara governs the four primal urges: food, sleep, sex, and self-preservation. groundedness and inner stability is its energetic function. 

Related Associations : Spine, Bones, Muscle, Legs, Arms, Rectum, Circulatory System (part I) 

Related Hormonal Stimulus : Ovaries, Testes 

Physiological Response : Self Awareness, Physical Strength, Increased Heart Rate, Fear or Courage, Passion, Sex, the Ability to Focus on Physical Goals 

2. SWADHISTHANA (the Sacral Chakra (Clear Orange)) : 

Svadhisthana (reproductive) is located at the pelvis. It is graphically, and in symbol, illustrated as an orange lotus with six petals, and it’s associated with the water element. Governing fluidity, adaptability, creativity, emotions, sexual energy, and the unconscious. It is to regulate our emotions and desires and not to be driven by them. 

Related Associations : Reproductive Organs, Kidneys, Bowels, Immune System (part I) 

Related Hormonal Stimulus : Spleen, Adrenals 

Physiological Response : Self Respect, Pleasure, Happiness, Ability to Joyfully Socialize 

3. MANIPURA (the Solar Plexus Chakra (Clear Yellow)) : 

Manipura (solar plexus) is located at the navel center. It is commonly depicted as a downward or upward-facing red triangle, and it’s associated with the fire element. Having a strong inner fire can help us drive our life experiences. 

Energetically, manipura’s function is to optimize our personal power so that we can navigate our lives with strength and drive. Manipura gives us the confidence we need to process and eliminate what does not serve our highest good, and to let that go. 

Related Associations : Central Nervous System, Pancreas, Liver, Digestive Tract, Stomach, Skin 

Related Hormonal Stimulus : Insulin 

Physiological Response : Self Worth, Intellect, Clarity, Optimism, Hunger, Activity, Desire to Work Together as a Team 

4. ANAHATA (the Heart Chakra (Clear Green)) : 

Anahata (sacred space) is located at the heart center. Anahata is illustrated as a green six-pointed star surrounded by 12 lotus petals. On a spiritual level, it’s said to be the home of the higher and infinite, indestructible self. Anahata is associated with the air element, and with emotional qualities such as peace, love, and openness. Energetically, anahata helps us tap into unconditional love. 

Related Associations : Heart Organ, Blood Pressure, Cholesterol, Blood Forms, Thymus, Lower Lungs, Circulatory System (part II), Immune (part II) System 

Related Hormonal Stimulus : Thymosin 

Physiological Response : Love, Compassion, Generosity, Normalizing Heart Rate, Allowing New Cell Growth, Ability to be Supportive, Focus on Family, and Have a Safe and Happy Home 

5. VISHUDDHA (the Throat Chakra (Clear Light Blue)) : 

Vishuddha is located near the hollow of the throat. It is graphically and symbolically illustrated, as a blue downward-facing triangle inside a lotus with 16 purple petals. Vishuddha is associated with the element of ether, or spacial (akasha), and with speaking one’s truth. Its energetic function is to help us find authentic self-expression. 

Related Associations : Thyroid, Respiratory System, Teeth, Vocal Cords, Larynx Trachea, Left Ear, Left Eye 

Related Hormonal Stimulus : Thyroxin Hormones (Metabolism Control) 

Physiological Response : Self Expression, Communication, Abilities to organize, Plan for the Future, Appreciate Beauty, Peace and Order, to Live in the Truth and Speak the Truth 

6. AJNA (the Brow (Third Eye) CHAKRA (Clear Indigo Blue)) : 

Ajna (command center) is located between the eyebrows. Shown as a Indigo lotus with two white petals, it’s considered to be the seat of the mind, of conscious and unconscious awareness. It is not connected with any element, as this chakra is considered beyond the physical elements. It is the center of intuition, vision, prophecy, imagination, inner knowing, and self-assurance. The energetic function of ajna chakra is to help us learn to know ourselves: emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. 

Related Associations : Pituitary Gland, Right Eye, Right Ear, Sinuses 

Related Hormonal Stimulus : Various Stimulating Hormones Related to Multiple Body Functions and Positive Feedback 

Physiological Response : Self Responsibility, Sense of Inner Strength, Ability to Visualize Creatively, Intuition, Calmness, Clairvoyance 

7. SAHASRARA (the Crown Chakra (Clear Violet)) : 

Sahasrara (thousand-petaled lotus) is located at the top of the crown of the head. The gateway into pure consciousness, It is graphically and symbolically illustrated, as a thousand-petaled lotus with a pinkish aura, and it is not connected to a physical element (beyond the elements). Sahasrara serves as a way of connecting to divine energy and is associated with our highest self. Sahasrara helps us function in a more enlightened way, cultivate self-mastery, and find a sense of connection with all. 

Related Associations : Pineal Gland, Brain, Nervous System 

Related Hormonal Stimulus : Melatonin 

Physiological Response : Self Knowledge, Enlightenment, Spirituality, Desire to Express the way You Feel, Ability to Connect to the Higher Power 

Blueprint to the functions of the human vessel 

1. Breath work: Breathing : Inhale breath from the diaphragm, bringing in the breath slowly, and bringing it up to the top of your crown, hold the breath a few seconds, and then arc out your breath through your mouth. Follow this circulation or patterning 7 times. 

2. Bringing breath down through the energy shaft to the energy systems 

3. The breath circulation ignites energy of the each energy center, and circulation of energy is disbursed throughout that center 

4. Continue until each energy center (7 centers) is activated